Connecticut’s Governor Ned Lamont signed into law the Paid Family and Medical Leave Act, which goes into effect on January 1, 2022. Employers of all sizes must comply by offering employees benefits that allow them to take some paid time off. Employees may take up to 12 weeks of time off to care for themselves or their immediate family members when there is an illness, a newborn’s arrival or a valid health concern. If an employee is pregnant and becomes incapacitated by a serious health condition, an employer must provide 14 weeks of paid time off.
According to Connecticut’s Official State Website, private sector employers with at least one full-time employee must follow the provisions of the act. Business owners who are sole proprietors or self-employed may also opt in, but do not have a requirement to give themselves paid time off. Employees requesting time off under the act, however, must provide their employers with a certified doctor’s note.
The new law requires employers to provide paid time off for the following five reasons:
- Donating bone marrow or an organ
- Active military duty emergency
- Caring for an employee’s own serious illness or condition
- Taking care of a child, spouse or a relative who is ill
- Caring for a newborn or a new foster or adopted child
While it may appear as though providing these benefits is an employer burden, employees can expect to have 0.5% of their wages withheld to fund the act’s benefits.
Creating a paid family leave policy for a company
The Constitution State encourages businesses to create a policy document that details the terms of how employees can request paid time off. Some companies have used new family laws to create an attractive and competitive employee benefits package, as reported by Business Insider. In addition to receiving paid time off, a business may consider providing a bonus to help its employees start their families.
An official company document that explains how the procedure works helps to avoid employee disputes and is highly recommended.